Peace be with you, from Darwin

Discussion about topics that don't fit elsewhere.
darwin

Peace be with you, from Darwin

Post by darwin »

Peace be with you,

I started playing TomeNET sometime in 2008; until sometime in Spring last year I adventured often with Kurzel on the main server.

I wonder why there are now two sites and if the plain TOME site is still updated.

I made the TOME & TomeNET SlackBuilds so the games can be played on Slackware GNU/Linux. I wonder if I should make a 4.4.4a build or if that is an alpha. However, I do not have advanced knowledge of POSIX programming and related command line tools. The SlackBuilds team did not want to accept my TomeNET build because I have not memorized 'diff,' 'patch,' etc., some of which were necessary. I was wondering if anyone here uses Slackware and those and wants to take over the build.

Bright blessings,
David (Darwin Vanir)
mikaelh
Developer

Re: Peace be with you, from Darwin

Post by mikaelh »

darwin wrote:I wonder why there are now two sites and if the plain TOME site is still updated.
There are two sites because we got tired of the old outdated TomeNET site. TomeNET and ToME are different games so we wanted to make our own site. I think there are some people still working on ToME but I don't know when they'll get around to updating the site.
darwin wrote:I made the TOME & TomeNET SlackBuilds so the games can be played on Slackware GNU/Linux. I wonder if I should make a 4.4.4a build or if that is an alpha. However, I do not have advanced knowledge of POSIX programming and related command line tools. The SlackBuilds team did not want to accept my TomeNET build because I have not memorized 'diff,' 'patch,' etc., some of which were necessary. I was wondering if anyone here uses Slackware and those and wants to take over the build.