Windows Server

Additional files for the client such as sound, music or fonts.
User avatar
tokariew
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 8:20 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows Server

Post by tokariew » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:41 pm

so i started making "releases" on github repo with guide. Because i was thinking that releases will be sad with only packed guide i uploaded some build of windows server.
At this moment i only wonder how repo with guide is related to server build :twisted:
https://github.com/Tokariew/tomenet-guide/releases
all version which i compiled are on github ;)

|||aus
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:10 am

Re: Windows Server

Post by |||aus » Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:24 am

Hey tokariew,

Just wanted to ask a quick question about your compiled server. Where do I make the IDDC with dungeon master commands? It doesn't appear to work at the normal location.

Also. Thanks so much for compiling this. I don't have access to all my stuff where I am right now so I can't put it together.

User avatar
tokariew
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 8:20 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows Server

Post by tokariew » Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:38 pm

i not sure to be honest… i usually grab the latest code, compile it, test it if it is working (if it's not working/compile i try to fix it), and upload…
As dungeon wizard/master you can check where is generated, it's under the same key chain, as normal player check in which dungeon he was, at my keyboard it's "~" + "9" combination

|||aus
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:10 am

Re: Windows Server

Post by |||aus » Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:10 am

Ah thank you for confirming you use the default! That allowed me to find it! For anyone else, this can be found in the source files "defines-local.h". You will find this entry that reveals the IDDC square:

/* Permanent event "Ironman Deep Dive Challenge": */
#define WPOS_IRONDEEPDIVE_X 63
#define WPOS_IRONDEEPDIVE_Y 63
#define WPOS_IRONDEEPDIVE_Z -1

I have yet to test it fully but I believe it is working. If you create a dungeon there it makes the "Ironman Deep Dive Challenge" as opposed to a dungeon labeled "Wilderness".

You can go there with a Dungeon Master account and create the IDDC there with dungeon creation commands but you would need to compile the server yourself to move the overall location and obviously edit this entry. This is my understanding due to a quick chat with Miyama who pointed me in the right direction initially.

If, like me, you cannot compile things at the moment or have no desire to do so. Define the following function in cblue.lua

Code: Select all

function partybus()
	local i
	for i = 1,NumPlayers do
        players(i).recall_pos.wx = 63;
        players(i).recall_pos.wy = 63;
        players(i).recall_pos.wz = 0;
--  let's try LEVEL_OUTSIDE_RAND (5) instead of LEVEL_OUTSIDE (4) - C. Blue :)
        players(i).new_level_method = 5;
        msg_print(i, "\255yA magical partybus shanghais you and spirits you away from the krakens!");
        recall_player(i, "");
	end
end

This will drag you and your friends to the dungeon entrance. This is based on Cblue's wrec method, but can only move you to the specified location to prevent errors and cheesy-use if you so desire.

Thanks for the help Tokariew!

User avatar
tokariew
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 8:20 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows Server

Post by tokariew » Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:22 pm

ok, so with next version i will make two version of server, one with default location, and one with moved. :)

User avatar
tokariew
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 8:20 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows Server

Post by tokariew » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:25 pm

so version with moved IDDC: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3gygs630wbek8 ... 4.zip?dl=0
what command make IDDC dungeon?

|||aus
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:10 am

Re: Windows Server

Post by |||aus » Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:04 am

You can put it there with the GM account: going into the "]" command list > level commands > add dungeon and then you follow the prompts.

[Edit] You need to be on the square where the IDDC is defined if I was unclear. [Edit]

If everything worked the dungeon will be named the "Ironman Deep Dive Challenge" as opposed to "wilderness". It will also use the IDDC ruleset. I.E. you should receive 20 ID scrolls when you enter, there will be restrictions on trading in the first 5 floors, and if you check -2000 and -4000 they should have unique named towns. I believe it can also be made as a tower, but I went for the standard dungeon. There will be random towns at -1000 and -3000.

Interestingly, the IDDC gives an experience multiplier as well as no floor/level exp penalty. It is also trivially easy to find artifacts on the ground as well as *ID* scrolls. Making it possibly the best place to level a new character followed by an escape once you reach -2000.

I have only experienced faster leveling by diving Mordor -50 as a low level mage. The experience multiplier and no experience penalty based on depth is so huge that you can actually outlevel the floor if you get a lot of orcs/snags. At -350 I was level 17 once.

User avatar
tokariew
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 8:20 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows Server

Post by tokariew » Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:44 pm

for other lazy people like me, who don't want copy lua files to new directory to make update:

4.7.1a: https://www.dropbox.com/s/i7e0ygo0b1fje ... a.zip?dl=0
4.7.1a with IDDC moved to 30, 34: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4v6lma92yqxsl ... 4.zip?dl=0

to lazy to copy .lua, not to lazy to compile…

User avatar
hootless
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:01 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Windows Server

Post by hootless » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:39 pm

I'm trying to compile the source (4.7.1a) on windows using CygWin and I'm getting this error, anyone got any idea how I can fix this? I'd really prefer to not set up a linux environment to tinker with the code.

Image

mikaelh
Developer
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:18 pm

Re: Windows Server

Post by mikaelh » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:04 am

Open up src/server/util.c and search for mkdir. You should see something like this:

Code: Select all

#ifdef WINDOWS
        mkdir(buf2);
#else
        mkdir(buf2, 0770);
#endif
Change it to this:

Code: Select all

#if defined(WINDOWS) && !defined(CYGWIN)
        mkdir(buf2);
#else
        mkdir(buf2, 0770);
#endif

Post Reply